On the Road Again

5 Dec

As you may know I recently completed two road trips across the U.S.  If you don’t already know this, please read Starting a Rebellion and then check out Rebel-With-A-Cause.org.  It was an amazing trip which provided some interesting observations.

First off, people’s response.  I was asked multiple times, “Is it safe?” or “Aren’t you afraid?”  Uh, really?  I’m driving across the southern United States.  I have no plans to stop in Kabul, Damascus or even Tripoli (although I really want to go there and start singing the Marine song – yeh, I know, politically incorrect).  Anyway, safe? Really? The biggest danger might be eating at Stuckey’s.  Yes there are a few still out there and they still sell Pecan Logs, which you can order online.  I just wonder what their online sales are like.  Please let me know if you’ve ever ordered from Stuckey’s online because I really want to know what else you’ve ordered online.

Another observation from the road – rudeness.  No, not the obvious ones of people cutting you off, climbing up your behind or leaving their left turn signal on for 15 miles (ok, just forgetful but, Oh My God – are you changing lanes or what?).  No, the bad road manners I’m speaking of involve windshield washers.  While you will run into many bugs while driving, must you clean them from your windshield while driving at 70 miles per hour on the freeway?  It’s as if these people feel the need to clean the windshields of everybody traveling within a ½ mile of them.

I’d also like to talk about Florida toll roads.  Many states now ban talking on cell phones (without earpieces) or texting while driving.  This is considered a dangerous distraction.  Florida Toll Road Authorities (or whoever you are that came up with this brilliant idea), what were you thinking?  Do you not consider it a dangerous distraction for me to be searching in my purse for 75 cents every 2 miles?

Now we get to the musical part of this journey.  It’s no coincidence that this article is named after a song.  After all, how can you do a road trip without a good play list?  First, let me say that I love the iPhone app. Music ID.  Hear a song on the radio, let your phone listen and name that tune!  It can however, become like late night infomercials.  After 10 hours of driving, every song you hear begins to sound like a masterpiece.  This might have been the most expensive part of my journey.

When it comes to actual music, well, a few more observations.  The song The Devil Went Down to Georgia is the country equivalent of Bohemian Rhapsody.  Try listening and singing along and you’ll understand.  John Mayer? I love his song Heart of Life, I hate his song Waiting on the World to Change.  Really, I thought I liked this song.  Then I listened to the words. “It’s not that we don’t care, we just know that the fight ain’t fair.
So we keep on waiting, waiting on the world to change.”  Are you kidding me?  We don’t like what’s happening, but we don’t know what to do so we’ll do nothing.  Brilliant! Why didn’t I think of that?

Finally we come to road trip songs.  My list of must haves: The Dixie Chicks Wide Open Spaces (the title says it all), Roger Miller singing, King of the Road (always thought it was Johnny Cash), The Eagles Hotel California, The Refreshments Banditos from their album Fizzy, Fuzzy, Big and Buzzy Album (because how can you not like an album with that name?), Linkin Park’s Shadow if the Day, just because it’s fun to sing out loud.  For the same reason, 4 Non Blondes What’s up? (yeh, we’ve all done some screamin’ in out cars to this one).  Next, my newest favorite, L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N. by Noah and the Whale.  But be careful, it will most definitely get stuck in your head.  And finally, the theme song of my life, Long Way Around by The Dixie Chicks.

So there you have it. Home for a couple more weeks then back on the ship (flying this time).  I just have two questions for you: What is the theme song of your life and what do you suggest I should add to my play list?

3 Responses to “On the Road Again”

  1. Barbara Gabriel December 6, 2011 at 5:50 AM #

    I always liked Seger’s ‘Get out of Denver’ for fast driving. One night I was driving through PA with my golden retriever and her 6 new puppies in the back and had no music (technical problems). I made it through the state by singing every Beatles song I knew.
    Alphabetically. Gotta love a road trip!

  2. Jackie Marlowe, Organic Alignment December 11, 2011 at 6:17 PM #

    Today, my favorite song is “Keep Breathing” by Ingrid Michaelson.

    • Carole B. Rosenblat December 11, 2011 at 6:26 PM #

      This is beautiful. And I have had days just like this – All I can do is keep breathing. And I met people who are there while working on Rebel-With-A-Cause. I’m downloading now. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

